One of the largest antebellum plantation houses in North Carolina. The mostly undisturbed Greek Revival plantation architecture, has Italianate features and an unusual cruciform floor plan with wide halls on both floors. In June, 2001, filming of a major motion picture concluded at the house for the Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood (released in 2002).
A sanctuary that rescues, rehabilitates, and cares for parrots, and is committed to providing a permanent refuge and a lifelong, healthy habitat for these parrots.
The Cowan Museum of History and Science was founded in 1981 by George and Ila Cowan as a memorial to their daughter, Joann Cowan Brown. It is housed within the Kelly-Farrior House (ca. 1848) and has an adjacent historical park with 6 buildings, which include a log cabin, general store, and one-room schoolhouse. Of the 4,300 objects in the collections, about 2,000 were donated to Duplin County by the Cowan family, with most focusing on 19th and 20th century tools and technology that document a history of innovation, resourcefulness, and creativity. Objects on display include a diversity of woodworking tools, agricultural implements, items used in a variety of crafts and trades, medical devices, many household artifacts, and an impressive collection of geological specimens. In addition, unique items may be encountered onsite, such as a tornado simulator, an alternative fuel fan, and a hog oiler.
4000 seat event and entertainment center. The Duplin County Events Center is a multi-use entertainment venue that can seat up to 4000 people. The center hosts a wide variety of events ranging from sold-out concerts in the arena to conventions, trade shows, and exhibitions.
As the oldest and largest winery in the south, Duplin Winery has been producing award winning wines for over three generations. Free daily tours and tastings, gift shop, gourmet foods, and perfect pairings and fun at the Bistro Restaurant.
Dinner Theater and on site family events provide outstanding and fun entertainment throughout the year. Reservations recommended for Bistro dining; tickets required for most events. Wine programs, receptions, weddings, and private parties welcome.
Housed inside the Faison library, this unique museum holds the secrets of Faison’s history: its people, churches, businesses, schools, family histories and civic clubs.
Established in 1736, it is the oldest continuous Presbyterian congregation in North Carolina.
Hebron Presbyterian Church, also known as Sutton’s Branch Church, is a historic Presbyterian church and national historic district located near Beautancus, Duplin County, North Carolina. An 1890 sanctuary remains cared for and virtually untouched by modern conveniences for the public to visit. The church is a small one-story, front gable, wood-frame Late Gothic Revival-style church. Also on the property is the contributing church cemetery with burials dating to 1902.
Legend states that Barbara Gastor Beverett discovered the spring in the early 1700s while searching for gold.
Liberty Hall is an architectural gem and a southern Historic land Mark. Visitors will enjoy guided tours of the 19th century house, grounds and out buildings which are now fully restored to past glory. The house hosted the “Wedding of the Century” between Henry M. Flagler and Mary Lilly Kenan in 1901.
375-acre working farm with a museum featuring a 1830s dog trot style house completely furnished to that period. Nine other vintage farm buildings containing over 850 artifacts from the past and a country store structure (c. 1925.)
A family-owned and operated bakery and bulk food products store keeps the dough rising and, even though the facility is small, it accommodates tour bus stops with advanced notice. They stock a variety of candies and sugar-free treats to round out their offerings. Call ahead to find out when the bread comes from the oven on the day you want to visit.
For more than 50 years The Country Squire Restaurant & Vintage Inn has been a landmark dining spot and country inn on N.C. Highway 50 (Bus. NC 24), between Kenansville and Warsaw. In keeping with this tradition of excellence, The Country Squire has opened its own working winery in the 18th Century portion of the restaurant. The Country Squire Winery’s Tartan Tasting Room & Gift Shop is a wonderful addition to The Country Squire, open to visitors from Tuesday to Saturday (and by special appointment. The Country Squire’s Vineyard with a charming gazebo is a lovely spot for weddings or other gatherings, in addition to the other rustic garden areas of The Country Squire’s grounds.
Restored 1894 Queen Anne style house is dedicated to recognizing Duplin County servicemen and women through the display of military artifacts and memorabilia from years past.
Remodeled in 2006 the depot houses a model train for visitors to see.
The collection’s showpiece is a classic and rare 1926 Dodge/Graham Brothers Fire Truck.
Weighing 2 tons with a 15’ diameter and holding 200 gallons of cooking oil, the frying pan has the capacity to cook 365 chickens simultaneously.