The Cowan Museum of History and Science was founded in 1981 by George and Ila Cowan as a memorial to their daughter, Joann Cowan Brown. It is housed within the Kelly-Farrior House (ca. 1848) and has an adjacent historical park with 6 buildings, which include a log cabin, general store, and one-room schoolhouse. Of the 4,300 objects in the collections, about 2,000 were donated to Duplin County by the Cowan family, with most focusing on 19th and 20th century tools and technology that document a history of innovation, resourcefulness, and creativity. Objects on display include a diversity of woodworking tools, agricultural implements, items used in a variety of crafts and trades, medical devices, many household artifacts, and an impressive collection of geological specimens. In addition, unique items may be encountered onsite, such as a tornado simulator, an alternative fuel fan, and a hog oiler.
Housed inside the Faison library, this unique museum holds the secrets of Faison’s history: its people, churches, businesses, schools, family histories and civic clubs.
Liberty Hall is an architectural gem and a southern Historic land Mark. Visitors will enjoy guided tours of the 19th century house, grounds and out buildings which are now fully restored to past glory. The house hosted the “Wedding of the Century” between Henry M. Flagler and Mary Lilly Kenan in 1901.
375-acre working farm with museum featuring an 1830s dogtrot style house completely furnished to that period. Nine other vintage farm buildings containing over 850 artifacts from the past and a country store structure (c. 1925.)
Restored 1894 Queen Anne style house is dedicated to recognizing Duplin County servicemen and women through the display of military artifacts and memorabilia from years past.
Remodeled in 2006 the depot houses a model train for visitors to see.
The collection’s showpiece is a classic and rare 1926 Dodge/Graham Brothers Fire Truck.